Area Health Education Centers (AHEC's) are the result of a grass roots effort by Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) and communities across the state to address the shortage of healthcare professionals in rural and undeserved Oregon. 


OPAHEC's mission is to promote access to quality healthcare through community and educational partnerships.

This is accomplished by: 

  • Improving the education, training, and distribution of health care professionals 

  • Providing activities to help recruit and retain healthcare professionals in the rural and undeserved communities

  • Providing community-based educational experiences for students in health professions and training programs

  • Supporting and promoting health career exploration programs for K-12 and post-secondary education students 

Service Area

OPAHEC serves the following counties in Northwest Oregon: ​​

  • Clatsop County

  • Columbia County

  • Tillamook County

  • Yamhill County 

  • Polk County 

  • Marion County

  • Lincoln County 

  • Benton County 

  • Linn County 

Other Regional Centers 

Oregon Area Health Center was established in 1989 with funding from the Oregon Legislature and later the federal government, AHEC now consists of a program office located at OHSU in Portland and five regional centers located in Bend, Corvallis, Forest Grove, La Grande, and Roseburg. 

Last updated: Monday, April 19, 2021

2300 NW Walnut Blvd • Corvallis, OR 97330 • Suite 1D


Phone: 541-768-4317 | Fax: (541) 768-9916

OPAHEC is an agency hosted by:

Proud Participant in the:

This website is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of a subaward totaling $101,995 (33%) financed with Federal funding and $210,226 (67%) financed with non-Federal sources. The contents are those of the author(s) and do not necessary represent the official views of, nor an endorsement, by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government